Skip to main content


Saturday, July 27th, 2024

at the Lubbock Memorial Civic Center

6:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.
For table sponsorship info: Call David Thetford – 806-777-0677
or send an email request to: [email protected]

1951 Lubbock State Championship Football Team

Class of 2012

1951 Lubbock State Championship Football Team

The 1951 and 1952 Lubbock High School Football Teams won consecutive Texas state football championships in 1951 and 1952. Lubbock wore the crown of District 1-AAAA champs at the conclusion 1951. The Westerners, in conquering all six of their district foes by an average margin of more than 26 points, rolled to a spotless 10-0 record. They didn't stop at winning just the district title. By the time the high plains dust had settled that December in 1951, the Hub City school had earned Texas' first Class AAAA state football championship, while finishing with an overall mark of 13-0. The black and gold clad Westerners defeated Robert E. Lee of Baytown, 14-12, in the title game played in Dallas. When the next season rolled around, the district faced a mild change. By order of special permission from District 1-AAAA officials, and with UIL approval, Midland was added to the fracas with the beginning of the 1952 season. The Bulldogs were moving up from Class 3A, where the previous season saw them make a run at the title in that classification. This created an eight team loop, making it easier to draw the district schedule. When the schedule was drawn up, it was decided to hold the district "rivalry" games on Thanksgiving afternoon, in the final week of the regular season. The "rivalry" games were deemed to be; Odessa vs. Midland, Amarillo vs. Lubbock, Pampa vs. Borger and Abilene vs. San Angelo. The Thanksgiving Day affairs quickly became a popular tradition, where overflow crowds generally packed the stadiums at the game-sites. In '52, Lubbock rolled to its second consecutive 4A state title, matching 1951's 13-0 campaign. Again, Baytown Lee was the victim; this time by a 12-7 score. During the 1952 football season, Amarillo Daily News sports writers began to refer to the district as "The Little Southwest Conference." The nickname quickly caught on; not only with West Texans, but also the rest of the state. ---, Coach Jerry Campbell
Back to class of 2012